Rwanda and Yemen Among Eight Countries to Lose UNGA Voting Rights

60th plenary meeting of the General Assembly 66th session:
Jan. 26, 2015 – Rwanda and Yemen are among eight countries to have their General Assembly voting rights suspended over non-payment of dues.

These countries have fallen foul of Article 19 of the UN Charter, which states that countries will lose their UNGA vote if their “arrears equals or exceeds the amount of the contributions due from it for the preceding two full years.”

Rwanda completed a two-year stint on the Security Council on Dec. 31, 2014. It is the fifth biggest troop contributor to UN peacekeeping operations.

Minimum payments of $69,948 from Yemen and $7,636 from Rwanda are required to get their voting privileges back, according to a letter from Ban Ki-moon to the president of the General Assembly. Liberia is also listed in Ban’s letter but he has since informed the GA that Monrovia has made the necessary payment.

Macedonia is also among the countries currently without a General Assembly vote. It will have to make a minimum payment of $24,606.

In total, 12 countries are not in compliance with Article 19, but four of those, including Guinea-Bissau and Somalia, can still vote as the GA decided that inability to pay is beyond their control.

The eight countries currently without a vote in the General Assembly:

1. Yemen
2. Grenada
3. Kyrgyzstan
4. Marshall Islands
5. Rwanda
6. The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
7. Tonga
8. Vanuatu

Rwanda has been assessed dues of $54, 271 for 2015 while Yemen’s dues are $271,357 for the year.

UPDATE Jan. 28: Following publication of this story, Rwanda has since made the necessary payment to restore its UNGA vote, a representative of the committee on contributions has informed UN Tribune.

– Denis Fitzgerald
On Twitter @denisfitz

Image/UN Photo

Busy First Month For New UNSC Members


The Knotted Gun sculpture outside the vistors entrance to the UN headquarters in New York City was a 1988 gift from Luxembourg, who join the Security Council for a two-year term on Jan 1 – the first time ever the country has served on the 15-nation body (photo: Denis Fitzgerald)

Dec. 30, 2012 – Argentina, Australia, Luxembourg, Rwanda, and South Korea begin two-year terms on the Security Council Jan 1 with fighting still raging in Syria, nuclear negotiations with Iran deadlocked, and a settlement to the Israel – Palestine conflict more elusive than ever.

January’s shaping up to be a busy month for the council and the the five new members – who replace big powers Germany, India, and South Africa, as well as Colombia and Portugal – are likely to spend their first month occupied by the rebel takeover of parts of the Central African Republic, the recently authorized African force for Mali, and further efforts to find common ground on a solution for Syria.

Rwanda, serving for a second time on the council, will find itself in the spotlight over allegations that it is supporting the mutinous M23 rebels in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The M23 most recently stand accused of shooting at a helicopter belonging to the U.N. peacekeeping force in DRC. Rwanda denies it is supporting the rebels.

South Korea’s expected to immediately begin lobbying the 14 other council members to take strong action against North Korea over Pyongyang’s rocket launch earlier this month.

Australia’s election to the council will put the ‘other’ back in the Western European and Others category and it sees the EU contingent on the council reduced to three (Britain, France and Luxembourg) from four (Germany and Portugal end their terms).

Argentina join Guatemala as the Latin representatives on the council and after recent spats with Britain over the Falkland Islands it will be interesting to see how this dynamic plays out in the council. Colombia consistently sided with Western countries during its term but such cooperation from Buenos Aires is far from guaranteed.

Luxembourg, more noted for its influence in international finance, will find itself having big boots to fill as the sole non-permanent EU representative with Germany and Portugal ending their terms.

(In addition to the five new members, the composition of the council in 2013 will consist of permanent members Britain, China, France, US, and Russia, and non-permanent members Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan, and Togo – the latter five end their terms on Dec 31, 2013).

 – Denis Fitzgerald