The Eight Security Council Members That Haven’t Joined the ICC

Although it is charged with primary responsibility for maintaining international peace and security – and can refer cases to the International Criminal Court – eight of the current 15 members of the U.N. Security Council have not joined the ICC, among them three of the five permanent members – China, Russia and the United States.

Of the ten non-permanent members, five – Azerbaijan, India, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo – have not joined.

In the broader UN membership, 121 of the 193 U.N. states have ratified the Rome Statute, the legal instrument that created the court  – with African, European and Latin American countries overwhelmingly supporting the court (exceptions include Sudan, Zimbabwe, Cuba, Nicaragua, Belarus and Ukraine).

From the Middle East and North Africa, only Jordan and Tunisia have ratified the Rome Statute.

Asia’s another region with poor representation. Afghanistan, Japan and South Korea have joined but several others, including North Korea, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Nepal, Vietnam and Singapore have not joined.